Chinese Ladder Bracelets DIY

Today I’m going to show you how I make these cute bracelets.  They could be made as friendship bracelets, or you can simply make them for yourself.  They are so easy to make that you can make one in one sitting if you wanted to.  It all depends on the thickness of your bracelet, because the thicker the string the faster it will go. 🙂

For this bracelet you will need:

1 Safety Pin

Embroidery Thread (however many colors you want!)

Scissors

First you want to cut your thread.  For measurements, I cut strands that went the length of my wrist to my shoulder.  I picked four colors: purple, pink, dark blue, and light blue, but I’ve done this bracelet with all the colors of the rainbow too so it doesn’t matter how many different colors you have.

IMG_0913.JPG

Second, you want to tie all of the colors together in a knot at one of the ends of the strings. IMG_0914.JPG

IMG_0915.JPG

You can then poke a safety pin through the knot and pin it to a pillow.  Next figure out how you want your color scheme to go.

IMG_0916.JPG

Now let’s get to the actual fun part!  You take the string with the color of your choice and make what looks to me like a 4 shape overtop the other strands of string.

IMG_0917

Then you tuck it under the other strands and through the loop that you have made.

IMG_0918

Pull it all the way through and tug firmly so you get a nice, tight knot.  Repeat this process as many times as you want with that color.  I counted ten knots before moving on to the next color.

IMG_0919

You do the same exact process for the rest of the colors! 🙂 Just make sure that you have the same amount of knots of each color so it comes out looking nice and even.

IMG_0920

IMG_0925

Once I’ve done the process enough times that the bracelet can wrap around my wrist, I split the strands evenly so I can do an ordinary braid to finish it off.  The braid just makes it easier for me to tie it around my wrist.  I finish the braid with the same knot that I tied everything together to begin with.

IMG_0929

Cut off the excess string and tie around your wrist!  As you can see, I made a few and I think they look super cute together.  I made one really skinny by dividing the strings into smaller strands.  If that makes any sense. 😀

IMG_0933

I hope you have fun with this if you ever try it out! 🙂

Anna Christine ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

