He Lives!

Happy Resurrection Day!

On Friday, I posted about Good Friday and well, why it’s good. In that post I said death did not defeat Jesus. We see that in John 20. I want to do a different kind of post here though. Instead of doing this like I did for my Good Friday one, I’m going to write about the resurrection in story form. Specifically from Mary Magdalene’s point of view, starting off from John 20: 11. 🙂

 

Mary’s eyes hurt from crying and her head ached as she stood outside the empty tomb. An image continued to go through her mind. Her Lord hanging on the cross, dying a horrible death when He did not deserve it. That picture would not leave her anytime soon, if ever.

And now He was gone. Literally gone. As if it wasn’t bad enough that they had killed Him, now someone had stolen His body. She stooped to enter, swiping at her never-ending tears. Her heart stopped as she saw two men dressed in a brilliant white sitting where Jesus had lain.

“Why are you weeping?” they asked.

“They have taken away my Lord, and I do not know where they have laid Him,” she answered and turned to see another man standing there, but he was dressed ordinarily. He looked like the sort of man that would be a gardener.

“Why are you weeping? Whom are you seeking?” he said, his voice kind. Maybe he would tell her what had happened to Jesus. Maybe he had something to do with it.

“Sir, if you have carried Him away, tell me where you have laid Him, and I will take Him away,” she begged.

“Mary,” the man said in a dearly familiar voice, and suddenly she saw who He really was. Her heart burst with inexplicable joy.

“Teacher!” she cried. Her tears, now of happiness, streamed down her face as she tried to wrap her mind around the fact that He was here. Alive.

“Do not cling to Me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father; but go to My brothers and say to them, I am ascending to My Father and your Father, to My God and your God,” he said gently. She didn’t quite understand what he meant, but she did what He asked and ran to find His disciples. She had seen Jesus die, and yet He was alive! How could this be? He truly was God.

Mary burst into the room where the disciples were gathered. The room was silent and thick with grief. They all turned to look at her when she entered. She took a deep breath and said,

“I have seen the Lord!”

 

This is why I celebrate Easter. Not because of candy and bunnies.  I celebrate because Jesus lives, and because He lives, I can also.

Happy Resurrection Day 🙂

Anna Christine ❤

Leave a Reply

