How To Train Your Dragon Toothless Tsum Tsum

IMG_1284

 

If you’ve heard of Disney’s Tsum Tsums, you know that they are super cute bean like versions of Disney characters.  Well, I got to thinking the other day that I wish there was a tsum tsum of Toothless, from ‘How to Train Your Dragon’. I mean, Toothless is already adorable, how cute would he be if he was in tsum tsum form?  Unfortunately, they’re called ‘Disney Tsum Tsums’ for a reason and Toothless is a DreamWorks character.  So I decided if I couldn’t buy a Toothless tsum tsum, I’d make my own!

I used: Black felt, red felt, green felt, needle and thread, hot glue gun, and toilet paper (I used it as the stuffing! 🙂 )

Make your pattern.  For me, I had the bottom part be 3 3/4 inches long and 2 inches wide.  Also the back/sides piece was 3 3/4 inches long (the same length of the bottom) and it was 4 inches wide.  I just eyeballed the size of the head and butt piece (they need to be the same size) to what looked like the right size that the 4 inch side of the body piece would wrap most of the way around it and made it oval.  Don’t forget that the bottom piece will cover some of the oval so don’t worry that your body piece doesn’t completely wrap around the head.  I traced the pattern onto the back of my black felt with a white pencil.  I even found felt that had a scale print on it so that was really cool! 🙂

Sew one of the ovals to the 4 inch side of the felt.  It can be kind of tricky to sew the flat piece of felt to the round one, but just keep turning it and you’ll be fine!  🙂   If you have a pattern on your felt like me, make sure you sew it so when it’s flipped inside out the pattern is on the right side!  One you sew the one side on, sew the other one on as well.  Once finished, flip it inside out.  (I used white thread so it would be easier to see for the pictures purpose, but I’d recommend using black or really dark blue thread.  If all you have is white you can do what I did at the end which is simply using a black marker to color the white thread.)

Start to sew the bottom part of the felt around the edges.  Once you have about an inch or two of an opening left, stuff it with stuffing, or toilet paper, or scrap fabric.  Anything soft will work!  Once it is stuffed to your liking, sew the rest of the gap closed.

IMG_1277

Trace and cut out the details that make Toothless Toothless!  There are no measurements for these, just do whatever you think looks best!  I happened to forget to cut out little feet in time for this picture, so be sure to add those.  After cutting all the pieces, hot glue them into place.

After I made Toothless, I figured he was a little lonely without his best friend, Hiccup.  So I made him too!  Hiccup had several more details, such as, well, clothes and hair (lol) but I just cut strips out of green, brown, and black felt and glued them on top of the tan felt.  These guys are two of my most favorite characters ever and I had a lot of fun making them!  Let me know if you try it out!

Anna Christine ❤

 

Leave a Reply

